OUR
DISTILLERY
Our Company's
HISTORY
Rooted in Development

One of the two co-founders, Eric, moved to Benin in 2010 as part of his volunteer service in the Peace Corps, an American international development branch known for its extremely immersive integration approach. Immersed in local village life, he discovered the popular drink known as Sodabi, an artisanal liquor obtained from the sap of palm trees. 

An ambitious bet

In 2011 Eric decided to travel to France to meet Jake and other friends, and hoped to bring a bottle of sodabi to share with them. Since sodabi only existed in an informal economy and was made in small villages, it was exclusively sold in reused plastic water bottles with no label, no list of ingredients, nor any company information.

 

Thus, when trying to check his luggage at the airport, Eric's unmarked bottle was flagged as a risk and he was called to the airport security office for questioning over the mysterious and unidentifiable bottle they found in his luggage. While being questioned by security, Eric explained that the liquid in the bottle was sodabi, and his only intent was to share sodabi with his international friends who had never heard of it or tasted it. In fact, to prove it was really sodabi and not another hazardous chemical, they made Eric take a sip of it right there in the security office! After some discussion, secuirty agreed that despite the risks of allowing the opened, unmarked bottle onto the plane, that the opportunity to share the sodabi with people internationally was a worthy initiative, and they approved Eric to travel with the bottle in his checked bag.

 

After landing in France, Eric shared the bottle of sodabi with Jake. Jake was intrigued by the flavors and story of this liquor, and was disappointed that he very nearly missed the chance to try it due to sodabi's lack of formality and industry standards. With Eric, they decided to take on a challenge: to formalize sodabi and share it with the world. For the next two years, they worked tirelessly to import machinery, refine distilling methods, and develop their product fit for international export. 

Finally, In 2013, Tambour Original sodabi was ready to share with the world.

 

In our image,

Drum beats embody Beninese culture, marking milestones in life, resonating through every individual that hears it. Despite its simplicity, it can be played in infinite ways.

 

Tambour Original sodabi embodies the rigor, discipline and complexity of the drumbeats that have graced the African land for generations. It was with these values in mind that we developed Tambour Original, the new definition of sodabi that salutes the bright future of West Africa while preserving the richness of its traditions.

 

Fun fact: the python that encircles the drum in our logo symbolizes the voodoo religion which originates in Benin. In voodoism, the python is believed to have mystical powers and is highly revered. 

Craftmanship

an inspiration.

a requirement.

Quality

Our guiding principles:
CRAFTMANSHIP
&
QUALITY

for superior quality.

Twice Distilled,

To produce the best sodabi in the world, we rely on a network of local palm farmers who are carefully selected for their devotion to harvesting top-quality palm sap. We then carry out quality control tests and fermentation monitoring in our facilities. The entire supply chain is traced in order to guarantee maximum safety.

 

We use world standard distillation equipment imported from Europe and USA to distill palm wine twice. Although this process takes longer and requires more careful monitoring, it does remove bad spirits in the tops and tails , and excess water to keep only the core, pure. This helps make Tambour Original so different.

 

Unique,

like our bottles.

We refused to make the choice of automation . Each Tambour Original bottle goes through the hands of our employees who assemble each part of the bottle by hand, from bottling to packaging, including capping and labeling.

On average, from the state of palm wine to becoming sodabi, it takes four months for the Arrangé during which we proceed to the distillation and maceration in contact with American oak.

NOTRE
 DISTILLERIE
LA BELLE
HISTOIRE
La découverte

Éric découvre le Bénin en premier, en 2010, alors qu'il est volontaire pour Le Corps de la paix (Peace Corps, une association américaine) dans le nord du Bénin. Il s’engage pour développer l’accès au soin des populations. Plongé dans la vie locale, il découvre vite l'alcool populaire que l’on nomme Sodabi, une liqueur artisanale obtenue à partir de la sève des palmiers. La fabrication est rudimentaire et souvent précaire.

Un pari ambitieux 

En 2011, Eric décide de voyager en France pour rencontrer son ancien camarade de promotion Jake et d’autres amis. Il emporta avec lui une bouteille de sodabi qu’il espérait partager avec eux. Comme le sodabi était exclusivement fabriqué de façon informelle dans des petits villages, il était exclusivement vendu dans des bouteilles d'eau en plastique réutilisées sans étiquette et sans liste d'ingrédients. 

 

Arrivé à l’aéroport, la mystérieuse bouteille interpella le service de sécurité qui questionna Eric sur son origine. Eric expliqua alors que le liquide dans la bouteille était du sodabi, et que sa seule intention était de le partager avec ses amis internationaux qui n'en avaient jamais entendu parler ou n'en avaient jamais goûté. En fait, pour prouver qu'il s'agissait bien de sodabi et non d'un autre produit chimique dangereux, Eric du en boire une gorgée devant eux ! Après quelques échanges, la sécurité autorisa finalement la bouteille ouverte et non marquée dans l'avion, soulignant que l'opportunité de partager le sodabi avec des personnes internationales était une initiative louable

Après avoir atterri en France, Eric dégusta avec Jake le fameux sodabi qu’il avait rapporté dans ses valises. Des saveurs qu’ils n’avaient encore jamais perçues les séduisirent. Jake fut conquis et cerna le potentiel de cet alcool traditionnel en visitant le Bénin. Avec Éric, ils décidèrent alors de se lancer un défi : faire du sodabi un spiritueux raffiné ouvert sur le monde. Durant deux années, les idées convergèrent, les étapes se succèdèrent. Leur famille et amis les encouragèrent dans leur folle aventure à plus de 9 000 kilomètres de leur pays d'origine.

En 2013, l’histoire du sodabi Tambour Original débutait avec la Distillerie Béninoise.

 

​À notre image,

Les battements du tambour incarnent la culture africaine, marquant les étapes importantes d'une vie tout comme le sodabi, qui résonnent à travers chaque individu. À chaque instrument correspond un rythme que l'on peut jouer de mille façons différentes à l’image du sodabi traditionnel qui varie au rythme des distillations. 

En intégrant une note de notre culture musicale, notre sodabi incarne la rigueur, la discipline et la complexité des battements de tambours qui ont honoré la terre africaine depuis des générations. Fiers de ces valeurs, nous avons élaboré Tambour Original, une redéfinition du sodabi qui salue l’avenir brillant de l’Afrique occidentale tout en préservant la richesse de ses traditions. 

 

Le python, encerclant le tambour, symbolise la religion vaudou dont le Bénin est le berceau. Il est l'animal le plus vénéré en particulier à Ouidah, ville historique du Bénin, où il est même sacré.  

Qualité

comme maître mot.

comme exigence.

Traçabilité

CONJUGUER
TRADITION
&
MODERNITÉ

meilleure qualité.

Double distillation,

Pour produire le meilleur sodabi au monde, nous nous appuyons sur un réseau d'agriculteurs locaux qui récoltent la plus haute qualité de sève de palmiers. Ensuite nous menons des tests de contrôle qualité et une surveillance de la fermentation dans nos installations. Toute la chaîne est tracée afin de garantir une sécurité maximale.

 

Nous utilisons des équipements de distillation de norme mondiale importés d’Europe et des États-Unis pour distiller le vin de palme par deux fois. Bien que ce processus prenne plus de temps et nécessite une surveillance plus rigoureuse, la lente distillation permet d'éliminer les mauvais alcools en têtes et en queues, et un excès d'eau pour ne garder que le cœur, pur. Cela contribue à rendre Tambour Original si différent.

 

Unique,

comme nos bouteilles.

Nous avons refusé de faire le choix de l’automatisation. Chaque bouteille Tambour Original  passe par nos mains qui assemblent chaque partie de la bouteille individuellement de l’embouteillage au conditionnement en passant par le bouchonnage et la pose d'étiquettes. 

En moyenne, de l'état de vin de palme jusqu'à devenir du sodabi, il faut compter quatre mois pour l'Arrangé. C'est le temps nécessaire à la distillation et la macération au contact du chêne américain.